‘Hati’ The Big Winner

16 Nov

Shuhaimi Baba (centre) posing with (from left) Kamarulzaman Taib, Aida Fitri Buyong, Kamarul Nizam Abd Rahman and Mohd Filus Ghazali after winning the Jury Choice Film Director award for ‘1957: Hati Malaya’.

KUALA LUMPUR: Pesona Pictures’ 1957: Hati Malaya reigned supreme at the 7th annual Anugerah Oskar Malaysia last night.

Adi Putra and Raja Azura with their awards for Male/Female Villain Character.

The film bagged most of the main awards, although it lost the Jury Choice Film award to Grand Brilliance Sdn Bhd’s romantic drama Sepi.

However, Hati Malaya’s director, Shuhaimi Baba, was once again honoured with the Jury Choice Film Director award — her third consecutive win.

Earlier this year, Hati Malaya had won four awards at the 21st Malaysian Film Festival.

This time, the film also took home trophies for Film Artistic Director (Aida Fitri Buyong and Kamarul Nizam Abd Rahman), Jury Choice Film Melody (Sharon Paul), Film Cinematography (Mohd Filus Ghazali) and Jury Choice Film Actor (Kamarulzaman Taib).
Shuhaimi’s supernatural film Waris Jari Hantu had taken home nine awards at last year’s ceremony.

Malaysia’s first film noir production, Kala Malam Bulan Mengambang, which emerged tops at the Malaysian Film Festival and scored big at the Anugerah Skrin 2008 last week, failed to shine this time around, securing only the Film Set Designer and Film Continuity awards.

Directed by Mamat Khalid, the film did receive a Special Jury award for the attempt of the producer and director at making “a film with a difference”.

M. Subash’s Pensil also received a Special Jury award for its attempt at “highlighting the issue of the handicapped”.

The Jury Choice Film Actress award went to Vanida Imran for her role in Akhirat, while Fauziah Nawi proved that she could move her viewers to tears when she was announced recipient of the Tear-Jerker Role award for her performance in the telemovie Mencari Syurga.

For the Male Villain Character award, Adi Putra, who shone in Akhirat, beat two other hopefuls, Mansher Singh (Vikrant) and Adlin Aman Ramlie (Susuk), while Raja Azura went home with the Female Villain Character award for her role in the telemovie Takbir Suci 2.

Meanwhile, Sepi, a drama about three individuals in the city learning about the meaning of love, loss and loneliness, bagged the Film Scriptwriter award (Mira Mustaffa and Ara) and Film Key Grip award (Dzulkafli Md Yusoh).

Fresh from his win at the Akademi Seni Kebangsaan, Rashid Sibir took home the Jury Choice Telemovie Director award.

Rosyam Nor bagged the Jury Choice Telemovie Actor award for Lahad, while Jury Choice Telemovie Actress award went to Haliza Misbun for Schizoid.

The Film Producer award was presented to Metrowealth Sdn Bhd, while Zeel Production (M) Sdn Bhd was honoured with the Telemovie Producer award.

The Telemovie Scriptwriter award went to Nazli Jaafar for Sesuci Al-Fitri.

It was interesting to note that comedy horror Antoo-fighter (produced by ImageBox Sdn Bhd and GBSB), which will only open at cinemas next week, clinched three awards — Film Visual Effects (Asrul Hisyam Ahmad), 3D Animator (Asrul Hisyam Ahmad) and Film Costume (Azizi “Chunk” Adnan).

The Tokoh Oskar 2008 award, which is similar to a lifetime achievement award, was presented to Norshah Tamby.

New Straits Times

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: